The Mousetrap Awards: theatre run by and for young people.

Voting has begun for the eighth edition of The Mousetrap Awards: the UK’s only theatre awards run by and for young people.  Anyone aged 15-29 can get involved, and everyone who votes will be invited to join the winners and attend the red carpet ceremony at the Charing Cross Theatre on Sunday 19th May. 

Awards will be presented in 14 categories which this year include Show With The Most Emo, Saved The Day andHome Sweet Home, as well as the more conventional Best Male Performer and Best Female Performer.   For the first time, a Special Recognition for Contribution to Theatre Award will be presented to highlight some of the pioneering work being done within the industry. 

Cast your vote in The Mousetrap Awards 2019! 

This year’s nominees were announced on Monday 18th March and a record number of votes have already been placed – over 2500 to date: thanks to lots of stars and shows sharing the great news on social media:

·         “We’re SO delighted to be nominated for the ‘Special Recognition for Contribution to Theatre’ Award at the youth-led Mousetrap Awards! Young people are at the centre of what we do so this means a lot to us. Thank you!” @The Black Ticket Project

·         “We are thrilled once again to be nominated for a Mousetrap Award!” @Hamilton

·         “Mark and his friends performing as ‘JACKIE’ in @carolinewestend are up for the BIG LITTLE STARS AWARD category of the MOUSETRAP AWARDS. So grateful to all in the Youth Forum for the nomination.” (Caroline or Change)

·         “Our amazing @lukebayer has been nominated for the ‘save the day award’ and we defo think he’s saved the day on a few occasions. We’re so proud of every understudy that go on at such short notice.” (Everybody’s Talking about Jamie)

The winners will be presented with their awards in front of an audience of young theatre-lovers at the ceremony on Sunday 19th May.  Compered by the Youth Forum, the ceremony will feature special guest speeches and performances from rising young stars to be announced.  Last year’s event was opened by Dreamgirls stars Liisi LaFontaine and Asmeret Ghebremichael and closed with a moving speech from Mousetrap Theatre Projects’ Patron Clive Rowe MBE, who gave high praise for all the young people involved.